Give Mom the Gift of Time. Hard Time.


When I think of what I’d like for Mother’s Day, I often come to “My God, a stint in rehab sounds fantastic.” But Betty Ford and Sunset Malibu are really the only ones I’m interested in — Private beach access! Encouragement to walk around the lake every morning! Spa treatments, people! Rehab sounds AWESOME. But I’d have to pawn my child to come close to affording these facilities, and since that would make me NOT a mother, we find ourselves in an unfortunate Catch 22. Also I’m not addicted to anything that’s detrimental to my health. Unless you count Grey’s Anatomy. Sooo, I think the next best option is clear:

For Mother’s Day, I’d like to go to a white-collar, minimum-security prison.

Well of course I specify “white collar.” When you are prescribing a present for yourself, you need to be precise. Otherwise I’m going to end up kickin’ it for a week with a guy called “Issues” in cell block D. And that, my friends, is not a vacation.

Austrian prison private balcony

In Austria, you can meditate on your private patio. Sign me up!

In a comfy minimum-security facility, you get to go to sleep at regular times and stay all night in your own bed. They cook for you, three times per day! I can read books all morning, or have long discussions about embezzlement. Plus I’d get an hour a day to work out. An HOUR. I will be so buff. At a place in Kentucky I can attend wellness workshops that focus on stress reduction. At other places I can check out an instrument and join an inmate band. Or become a dental assistant! Leatherworking classes sound fun. And think how useful I’ll be after my vacation if I take the vocational programs in baking and landscaping.

Prison sounds great. No more wondering what to wear in the morning. I could get one of those cute soap-on-a-ropes. I wouldn’t be responsible for anyone. Heck, I wouldn’t even be responsible for myself! What mom wouldn’t be thrilled with such a gift?

You might ask, “But Summer, how do I get my mother such a luxurious vacation? After all, one can’t just call a jail and make reservations.” To that I say, why not?! We should be able to call up the justice system and declare ourselves a threat to society. “Hello, correctional facility? If I don’t go to jail to get away from these kids RIGHT NOW, I’m going to commit a crime. Like mail fraud.” If that won’t work, and I’m told it won’t, then you’re going to need to frame mom. But you know what, it’s Mother’s Day–This is your job. I’m not going to plan it all out for you.

5 responses to “Give Mom the Gift of Time. Hard Time.

  1. i’m not even a mom, and it STILL sounds like an awesome vacation!! and, the best part is, the TAXPAYERS pick up the tab!! 🙂

  2. Amanda Onstott

    YOU. CRACK. ME. UP!!!!! I have had splintering thoughts about such holidays. But you have flushed it out beautifully. Happy Mother’s Day!!

  3. Reminds me of a wilderness excursion (resort) trip, I’ve been thinking about…Except they make you pay. Maybe if you take an extended stay at a great resort, and the check bounces…use a bad credit card… or you use counterfeit money…abuse the mini-bar (Okay, I’m getting too excited)… will they put you in a “white collar” prison?? You get two great vacations for the price of none!!

  4. Right on, G-dad. I was going to suggest having a second child and selling it to afford rehab, but your idea is much better.

    I’m not keen on the prison idea, though. What happens if there’s a Playtex sale while you’re behind bars?

  5. how to lose weight fast

    Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite
    reason appeared to be on the net the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about
    worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a Reply

