Interview with a 4 year old


What is the best thing about being 4?
Because teaching numbers every day is fun.

What can you do now that you couldn’t do when you were 3?
I can hang like a big kid. I can hanging with the monkey bars that don’t have anything with the other bar, the other one that you don’t have to climb on with the next one. That’s why, I can put my feet on those bars. And my hands too, and I can SWING my legs up there and then I can be like a big kid.

What is the hardest thing about being 4?
That I can’t catch leaves.

What do 4 year olds like to eat?
Salad.

Seriously? Do you like salad?
Yeah, now I like salad. But not with noodles.

How did you grow so big?
I ate lots of good healthy food and got lots of sleep, and ate healthy food and got lots of sleep!

What do 4 year olds play with?
Jessie [from Toy Story]. Like me. And Minnie Mouse. And even the princesses I have.

What do 4 year olds NOT play with?
Baby toys. Like chewing stuff that you can chew and biting stuff and squishing ones. That is not fun to play with. That means I’m giving them away.

What will you be when grow up?
Um, a doctor. Just two things, a work like you–the same work–and I’ll be a doctor too.

Will you also be an author? I noticed you recently wrote and illustrated The Little Boy Who Lived in the Forest.
Yes, I am an author. Did you ever see a 4 year old write a book before?
No, I never have.
Well, I DID write a book.
It’s fantastic.
It’s exquisite.

Ohhhhhkay. When is a person grown up?
Um, 17. 17 is great. 17 is a grown up?
Almost.
Yay! 19 years old and then you’ll be a grown up?
Yes, basically.
All right! I can’t wait to be 19. And be BIG BIG BIG.

What is your favorite game?
I don’t know. I don’t know what I have. Dominoes.

What kind of art is your favorite?
Doing pumpkins.

Favorite animal?
A monkey. And a rabbit.

If you could have any pet, what would it be?
A bunny rabbit.

We have cats. What’s the best thing about cats?
‘Cause you get to play with them and hug them.

What do 4-year-olds think about?
Good dreams. AND they dream about Christmas lights and dancing turkeys in their heads.

What is your favorite outfit?
This one.

What else should we know about 4 year olds?
Big kids really love playing with their toys, so much they want to hug them and sometimes they get ripped.

Anything else?
Everything. They love blue blankets and red blankets and every kind of blanket they have. And they love to cuddle them like this [squeeze]. . . . Where’s the remote control?

12 responses to “Interview with a 4 year old

  1. LOVE this. I am going to ask Jared the same questions and will email you his answers…if he can sit still and pay attention long enough to answer them. Sometimes he has the attention span of a gnat.

  2. OhMyGee!
    Laughing! And laughing, laughing, SNORTING!
    I love what kids say. I love the way you write about Sally and what she says.

  3. THIS is pure awesome.

  4. “dancing turkeys in their heads.” LOL

  5. Awww. 🙂

    And this four-year-old can write! Wow. When I was four, all I could do was bawl and drool and pee in my pants because my parents were late in picking me up from the daycare center.

    This one is exquisite, indeed.

    • Well, technically she can dictate. 🙂 But the story is actually pretty decent. I might post it at some point. Thanks for reading the blog!

  6. I can’t even SPELL the word exquisite!

  7. How sweet, this is one for the baby book. I love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

