Happy Birthday to My Blog


June 28: Mom-Colored Glasses turns 1 today. Isn’t it cute? I love how it toddles around eating crumbs off the floor.

But seriously, the blog started a year ago today, and we’ve come a long way, baby. From my entire audience looking suspiciously genetically related to having loyal readers I’ve NEVER MET. You’re all making my wildest dreams come true. Except the part where Matt Damon knocks on my door and hands me a multi-million dollar movie deal and his undying love. Can someone get cracking on that? Still, in one year we’ve covered a lot of parenting ground. And on my blogging birthday I’d like to do what any 1-year-old would do: drool all over my cake while my parents reminisce about the year gone by. . . .

I ask you to join me on a trip town memory lane. FYI, all the images link to the posts they reference, in case you’re obsessed with me and want to relive the year. Okay, here we go . . . (insert ’80s sitcom cop-out episode effect where they transition to snipits of old episodes with wavy lines — doodle-doodle-doo, doodle-doodle-doo, doodle-doodle-doo)

It all started when I said "I don't want to clean. I wish I had a hobby." And Mr. Embee in his infinite wisdom said "Stop whining and start that blog you always talk about." And I thought, "Hey, I'm good at whining. I should start a blog!" And Mr. Embee said "I divorce you" three times but it didn't work.

My first post was about how Sally and I get into homicidal arguments when it's hot out. My mom liked it. So did my dad. Mr. Embee was happy because he got to play video games for an hour while I wrote it.

My relationship with bugs has been well-documented. I hate them. They hate me. May the best organism win.

You've watched Sally grow from a 2 3/4-year-old to a 3 3/4-year-old. This growth involved A. LOT. OF. DRAMA.

I asked you all to send out skinny vibes before my college reunion. You failed me.

I was going to count how many posts mentioned boobs, but that would take forever. It's a lot.

And don't forget the time I said motherhood was the No. 1 most stressful job in America. Bajillions of people read that and started World War III. Pretty much the most fun day of my life.

Ah, good times. And I didn’t even include the ones where Sally painted swear words at daycare or became fascinated with bodily noises. This post is my 78th. You’ve contributed 581 superior comments. And there have been 22,788 hits in exactly one year. It’s just the beginning, folks. I’ve got some tricks up my sleeve for year two. Like getting the blog potty trained and off the boob. Awh jeez, there’s another reference. See what I mean?

Thanks for reading.

11 responses to “Happy Birthday to My Blog

  1. WOOOOHOOOO! Way to go Summer! Keep the hilarity coming.

  2. sublime. chuckles abound. don’t stop writing!

  3. I think you deserve a cake. I also think I deserve to help you eat said cake…

  4. middleagedcrazywoman

    You started a war? Cool!

    I happen to agree that motherhood is the hardest job – we chose it and we discover we are a HELL of a lot stronger than we ever thought.

    M

  5. Happy Blogday! Does this require a present?

  6. "PoP"/G-father

    There’s always a present…

    Summer Happy Blog Day!!

    Thanks for a year smiles, chortles, belly-laughs, and falling out of the chair a few times! In the office!!!

  7. haha LOVE the pictures. Congrats!

  8. I haven’t missed a single post – can’t believe it’s been a whole year!

  9. yay! happy blog birthday! i have loved them all!

  10. I only just started following your blog, and love it, so this was like the LOST episodes with the little popup boxes that tell you all the background and secrets. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

